Oral Presentation Awards

Session Name Topic Place
Masonry Karren Izquierdo Increasing the Accuracy of In-plane Shear Strength Predictions for Partially Grouted Masonry Walls
Concrete Benedict Egbon The Strength Prediction of Notched Sandwich Panels under Push-through Test
Steel Sheldon Twizell Evaluation of the Lateral Torsional Buckling Response of Heat Straightened Girders
Pipeline Saher Attia Evaluation of Elbow Element Behavior in Abaqus under Internal Pressure Overall Best
Timber Ahmed Mowafy Nonlinear Static Analysis of Hybrid Steel-timber Structures Using Fibred-based Nonlinear Model
Bridge/Biomechanics Maha Ead Investigation of Pelvic Symmetry and the Development of 3D Pelvic Models

Poster Presentation Awards

Place Name Topic
1st Miguelangel Bilotta Assesment of Design Procedures for Slender Masonry Walls for Future Optimization
2nd Moad Bani Nonlinear Static Analysis of Steel Concentrically Braced Frames Designed to CSA S16-14 Provisions

Why the conference?

The purpose of the conference is to celebrate the graduate students of the Structures Group. The conference will provide a nice and relaxed environment for all the students to present their work to their peers and to the industry. The conference will provide networking opportunities between different research groups within our Structures Group and the industry partners.

The emphasis throughout the conference is on sharing ideas, experiences and building a bridge between the students in the Structures Group and the industry.

A call for abstracts is to be released June 19th, 2019.

The conferecne is to be held at the following location:

Royal Glenora Club

11160 River Valley Road Northwest

Edmonton, AB T5J 2G7


Deadline for registration to the conference is August 11th, 2019.

The cost of registration for students is free and all meals are included. Tickets for your spouse or partner, and industry are available at the cost of $50.00. For this and all other inquiries, please contact

Conference program:

08:00 AM – 08:30 AM Registration + Breakfast

08:30 AM – 09:00 AM Opening Remarks

09:00 AM – 09:30 AM Keynote 1: Mark Hagel

09:30 AM – 10:45 PM Oral Session 1: Masonry

09:30 AM – 10:45 PM Oral Session 2: Concrete

10:45 AM – 11:00 AM Break

11:00 AM – 12:30 PM Oral Session 3: Steel

11:00 AM – 12:30 PM Oral Session 4: Pipeline

12:30 PM – 01:30 PM Lunch

01:30 PM – 02:30 PM Poster Session

02:30 PM – 03:00 PM Keynote 2: Carla Dickof

03:00 PM – 04:45 PM Oral Session 5: Timber

03:00 PM – 05:15 PM Oral Session 6: Bridge/Biomechanics

05:15 PM – 07:00 PM Dinner and Awards

Gold Sponsors


Bronze Sponsors


Event Coordinators

Conference Chairs: Md Abdul Hamid Mirdad, Brittney Lopushinsky

Technical Committee: Abolfazl Ashrafi, Qipei Mei, Odin Guzman Sanchez, Mehsam Tanzim Khan

Marketing Coordinator: Eziolu Ilozumba, John Spencer, Harsh Vrajeshkumar Patel, Michael Manarin

Activities Coordinators and Treasurers: Sheldon Twizell